‘I’ll wait here

I’m Impatient, I had just enough money to half record this song… enough to get its bones down… enough to add to my upcoming @POZIBLE campaign to give everyone SOME idea of what I might sound like…

then I decided I like it! I like it’s rawness… I certainly can’t wait for my amazing band members to add their strings and beautiful melodies and tones, but I DO have to wait! probably 6 months! and meanwhile.

I decided I’ll share this music around simple and raw with nothing to hide behind, because that’s how I feel about it right now.

I’m at a point where I’m feeling a bit bare. It’s plain for everyone to see I’m really giving it a go, which is a scary step- because it means you might be taking yourself a bit seriously and that in turn means, you might be fooling yourself and kinda sorta embarrassing yourself too!!

I’m 32 now. I have this little voice sometimes whispering to me.. Aaaannnnaaaa… too laaaaate!! Mooooove ooooooooon!!

But I have another that’s a little bit, just slightly louder saying, WHY?!!! THIS is when I have written the best material, THIS is when my voice has matured through the experience of having 4 daughters, the first born when I was 22, the euphoria, the isolation, the joy, the fear, the love, the loneliness, the first real opening of my eyes.

So I’m doing it. I don’t know why, it’s scary, It’s humiliating at times, but mostly, it’s amazing and freeing and joyful!

That’s it.

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a while… about my experience of doing things a bit upside down, about attempting to be a musician as a woman in her 30s, about having babies while your mates travel and build careers, about feminism (humanism!) and philosophy and shared experiences.

@freyabennet

@freyabennet

It’s pretty challenging fitting it in while I’m an at home every day mum of these 4 beautiful souls… I gave up work to be with them every day, which is a blessing, thank God I’m able to! But as any musician will know, keeping up with music world these days is ahhh.. kind of FULL ON!!!! And I never want to risk prioritising unimportant (in the scheme of life!) things over my children’s needs ever again! (I MAY have worked as a designer for a few years and got a little carried away with that business! slight OCD tendencies!)

I’m trying to strike the balance… trying to take music at a slow pace… which is another thing that feels like a bit of an up-stream swim for an impatient character!

Being slow. Being patient. Leaving some gaps for life and love and spirit. It goes against everything we are fed by our culture and I have to catch myself every day and just STOP.

So here it is. Raw half recorded music for you. I hope you like it. My blog will be in the same tone because I’m not doing a lot of self editing here! I hunger for honesty in a world of image and mirage and so I’m going to try my best to keep it real!

(photography @saraenticknap, @freyabenette, recordin @fourty4studios)

@freyabennette

20140517-212447.jpg

20140517-230408.jpg

20140517-230422.jpg

20140517-230439.jpg

20140517-230456.jpg

20140517-230531.jpg

20140517-230548.jpg    http://www.facebook.com/annacordell.music

twitter @anna_cordell

http://www.bandcamp.com/anna_cordell

 

 

10 thoughts on “‘I’ll wait here

  1. Breathy and gorgeous, i feel compelled to revisit the ivories and exercise my vocal chords after so many years. Thankyou for your ongoing inspiration. I wish you all the luck. X

    • Oh Demelza how lovely to hear from you!!!! Thankyou, YES!! Do it!! I have music up for years and took it up again about 3 years ago- the time must have been right becuase it all came back really fast. Singing is the best therapy!! Thanyou!

  2. Yay go for it Anna! You are a wonderful performer, and sharing your talent can only benefit everyone. Re the age thing, perhaps age is only a perception, not a reality, anyway. R x

  3. Beautiful Anna! You are such an inspiration. And you are just gorgeous. 32 is so YOUNG! It’s just stupid society telling us we should all be doing things when we are 17. Beautiful song!

  4. First of all, ‘i’ll wait here’ as you have presented it here is a beautiful production. Its got this raw acoustic feel that’s so honest, I love it. I’ve passed it onto a few people that are now dedicated anna fans.

    Everyone by now would know ‘Passenger.’ Well, passenger had been a performing musician for decades before just recently becoming one of the biggest names in pop folk music. He has only recently signed to the same label as ed sheeran and he is well into his 30’s.

    I guess the key is not giving up on your dreams and your dreams are only perceived delusions to everyone else who cant possibly understand where your passion comes from. Insecurities can trick you into thinking the dream is a delusion. It’s not. Its real. Reality is your perception. I’ve read heaps of encouraging comments here about your art and I truly hope it motivates you to keep striving for that position you are dreaming of.

    • Wow thankyou so much!! That is really so, so encouraging! just when I was about getting fed up because this thing won’t accept my edits!! Thanks so much Fletch, looking foward to the gig friday at lentil as anything and seeing you live!!

Leave a Reply

